Tasmannia xerophila (P.Parm.) M.Gray

Contr. Herb. Austral, no. 26: 8 (1976) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Bushy spreading shrub to small tree, 0.6–4 m high, usually clumped due to root suckering, stems finely tuberculate, reddish when young. Leaves oblanceolate to narrowly oblanceolate, (2–)3–14 cm long, 5–30 cm wide, coriaceous to rigid, dark green above, pale green or glaucous below, midrib prominent to obscured and finely tuberculate; apex obtuse to subacute; margins flat to slightly recurved; petiole 2–6 cm long. Flowers 1–16 per inflorescence; 1 flower per bract; pedicels 7–15 mm long. Male flowers with 9–30 stamens, sterile carpels 1(–2). Female flowers with 2(–4) petals, 5–7 mm long; carpels 1–8(–11), with 2–9 ovules per carpel. Fruits 2–6(–11) per pedicel, globose to short-ovoid, 6.5–11 mm long, 5–10 mm wide, glossy-black to glaucous at maturity; pedicels 5.5–14 mm long; seeds 2–7 per berry; aborted ovules pink.

CVU, EGU, GipP, HFE, HNF, HSF, MonT, SnM, VAlp.

2 subspecies both in Victoria.

Source: Raleigh, R.E.; Entwisle, T.J. (1996). Winteraceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Tasmannia xerophila in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Tasmannia xerophila in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Gippsland Plain present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Highlands-Southern Fall present native
Highlands-Northern Fall present native
Monaro Tablelands present native
Highlands-Far East present native
Victorian Alps present native
Snowy Mountains present native

State distribution

Distribution map
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory