Goodenia lunata J.M.Black

Stiff Goodenia

Trans. & Proc. Roy. Soc. South Australia 51: 384 (1927) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: vulnerable (v)

Decumbent to ascending perennial to 25 cm high; stems strigose. Leaves appressed-pubescent to strigose; basal leaves shortly petiolate, ascending, rosetted, linear to ovate, 4–12 cm long, 4–30 mm wide, acute, toothed to pinnatifid; cauline leaves sessile, smaller, entire. Inflorescences terminal racemes to 15 cm long, or subumbels; pedicels articulate, 1–6 cm long; bracteoles absent. Sepals lanceolate, 2.5–3.5 mm long; corolla 8–14 mm long, appressed-pubescent outside and finely pubescent near base inside, yellow, abaxial lobes 4–5 mm long, wings 2–3 mm wide; indusium broad-oblong, virtually glabrous with a curved orifice; ovules 10–20. Fruit obovoid to subglobose, 7–10 mm long, valves entire; seeds suborbicular, 5–7 mm diam., pitted, brown, wing c. 1 mm wide. Flowers mainly spring.

MuM, VRiv, Wim. Also WA, NT, SA, Qld, NSW. In Victoria, known with certainty only by a few old collections from the Dimboola area, and recent collections from near Kerang.

Source: Jeanes, J.A. (1999). Goodeniaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2019-01-10
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Asteranae
order Asterales
family Goodeniaceae
genus Goodenia
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Goodenia lunata in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Goodenia lunata in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Victorian Riverina present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales