Alectryon subcinereus (A.Gray) Radlk.

Native Quince

Act. Congr. Int. Bot., Amsterdam 117 (1877) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: endangered (e); listed in Flora and Fauna Guarantee Act 1988

Tree to 13 m high; young growth and inflorescences puberulent. Leaves paripinnate with (1–)2–4 leaflets; rachis 2–9 cm long; leaflets elliptic-oblong to elliptic-ovate, acute, shortly acuminate or subobtuse, margins entire or serrate toward apex (juvenile foliage serrate), upper surface glabrous, lower surface papillose, puberulent to glabrous, thinly coriaceous; petiole 1.5–3.5 cm long. Panicles 10–15 cm long and wide; cymules 3–7-flowered. Flowers usually unisexual; pedicels 2.5–4 mm long; calyx c. 1.5 mm long, lobes ovate, c. 0.5 mm long, pubescent; petals pink, obovate, c. 1.5 mm long; stamen filaments to 1 mm long; ovary villous. Capsules broadly obcordate or transversely ellipsoid, 2-(rarely 1- or 3-)lobed, 8–10 mm long, 8–16 mm wide; pericarp thin and crustaceous, glabrous. Flowers and fruits Sep.–Feb.

EGL. Also Qld, NSW. Exceedingly rare in Victoria where known from a small gully above the Genoa River upstream of Genoa township, in dryish, warm temperate rainforest on rocky substrate.

Source: Duretto, M.F. (1999). Sapindaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Sapindales
family Sapindaceae
genus Alectryon
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Alectryon subcinereus in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Alectryon subcinereus in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
East Gippsland Lowlands present native

State distribution

Distribution map
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory