Amaranthus hybridus L.

Spleen Amaranth

Sp. Pl. 990 (1753) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Naturalised

Erect annual to 1 (rarely to c. 2) m high. Stems grooved, sparsely pubescent, at least on younger parts. Leaves long-petiolate, ovate to rhombic, lamina 1.5–10 cm long, 1–6 cm wide, entire. Inflorescence a panicle of many spikes to c. 5 cm long and 5–8 mm diam. Flowers unisexual; longest bracts and bracteoles, 2.5–3.5 mm long, broad and membranous at base, acuminate, spinescent; tepals 5, c. oblong, 1.5–2 mm long, acute; stamens 5. Utricle circumsciss, subequal to or slightly exceeding perianth; style-bases slender; seed discoid, 1–1.5 mm diam., brown, shiny. Flowers mostly Feb.–Apr.

*GipP, *MuF, *NIS, *VRiv, *VVP. Also naturalised NT, SA, Qld, NSW, ?Tas. Native to tropical and subtropical America. Known with certainty in Victoria from paddocks and the vicinity of railyards in the Swan Hill, Shepparton, Euroa and Walwa areas.

Many earlier records of this species belong to the closely related Amaranthus powellii.

Source: Walsh, N.G. (1996). Amaranthaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-04-18
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Caryophyllanae
family Amaranthaceae
genus Amaranthus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Amaranthus hybridus in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Amaranthus hybridus in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present naturalised
Victorian Riverina present naturalised
Murray Fans present naturalised
Gippsland Plain present naturalised
Northern Inland Slopes present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory