Phoenix canariensis Chabaud

Canary Island Date-palm

Provence Agric. 19: 293 (1882) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Naturalised

Palm-tree, to c. 20 m high, trunk single, erect, stout, to 1 m diam. or more. Leaves spreading, to c. 6 m long, 50 cm wide, broadest in the middle one-third, petiole very short; pinnae stiff, deeply channelled, to c. 40 cm long, 3 cm wide (when flattened), basal pinnae short, thick and extremely sharp-pointed. Panicle to c. 80 cm long or more; flowers yellowish; perianth segments obtuse, inner and outer whorls subequal, 4–5 mm long. Fruit ellipsoid, yellow to reddish, 1.5–2.3 cm long, fleshy layer rather thin.

*GipP, *MuF, *NIS, *Strz, *VRiv, *VVP. Not recorded as naturalised in other States. Native to the Canary Islands. Widely cultivated as an ornamental. Naturalized beside the Goulburn River at Mooroopna and likely established in similar riparian sites in northern Victoria. Commonly spreading from nearby trees in suburban Melbourne.

Source: Conn, B.J.; Walsh, N.G. (1994). Arecaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-10-31
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Arecales
family Arecaceae
genus Phoenix
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Phoenix canariensis in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Phoenix canariensis in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present naturalised
Victorian Riverina present naturalised
Murray Fans present naturalised
Gippsland Plain present naturalised
Northern Inland Slopes present naturalised
Strzelecki Ranges present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory