Tmesipteris obliqua Chinnock

Long Forkfern

Muelleria 8: 60 (1993) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Fronds unbranched, 20–65 cm long, growing for more than one season; basal portion of stem with groove on upper surface. Leaves not crowded (c. 3 per cm), mostly 20–25 mm long, smaller in younger parts of plant, firm; base asymmetrical; apex truncate with fine excurrent point, 2–4 mm long. Sporophyll lobes 10–15 mm long and c. 2–3 mm wide. Synangium elongate, 4–6 mm long, with pointed ends.

CVU, EGL, EGU, GipP, Glep, GGr, HFE, HNF, HSF, OtR, Strz, VAlp, VVP, WPro. Also NSW, Tas. (including Bass Strait islands), Norfolk Is. On trunks of tree-ferns and occasionally shady, moist rock-faces.

Source: Entwisle, T.J. (1994). Ferns and allied plants (Psilophyta, Lycopodiophyta, Polypodiophyta). In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
class Psilotopsida
order Psilotales
family Psilotaceae
genus Tmesipteris
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Tmesipteris obliqua in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Tmesipteris obliqua in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Glenelg Plain present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Greater Grampians present native
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Wilsons Promontory present native
Highlands-Southern Fall present native
Highlands-Northern Fall present native
Otway Ranges present native
Strzelecki Ranges present native
Highlands-Far East present native
Victorian Alps present native

State distribution

Distribution map
South Australia
New South Wales