Fumaria parviflora var. parviflora

Small-flowered Fumitory

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Naturalised

Erect, glaucous herb, branched from near base. Largest ultimate segments of leaves to c. 2 mm long and 0.5 mm wide, often subterete. Racemes longer than peduncles, sometimes subsessile; bracts longer than flowering pedicels; pedicels thickening in fruit, remaining suberect; sepals oblong or c. triangular, often deeply incised, 0.5–1 mm long, attached basally; corolla with short, broad spur, 4.5–6 mm long overall, white, often reddening after fertilization, inner petals dark purplish at apex. Fruit c. 2 mm long and wide, blunt to somewhat acute at apex, sometimes squarish near base, distictly keeled, tuberculate, with very shallow apical pits. 

*MuF, *MuM, *Wim. Also naturalised WA, NT, SA, Qld, NSW. Native to the Mediterranean region, widely naturalised. Uncommon, occurring mostly in the north and west, sometimes in association with Fumaria densiflora.

The leaves of some mature specimens resemble those of juvenile plants in being broader and less divided than typical.

Source: Walsh, N.G. (1996). Fumariaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-03-26
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Ranunculanae
order Ranunculales
family Papaveraceae
genus Fumaria
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Fumaria parviflora var. parviflora in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Fumaria parviflora var. parviflora in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Murray Mallee present introduced
Wimmera present introduced
Murray Fans present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales