Austrobryonia micrantha (F.Muell.) I.Telford

Syst. Bot. 33: 126 (2008) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: rare (r)

Annual from a perennial rootstock; stems ribbed and scabrous. Leaves broadly ovate to palmate, 1.5–4.5 cm long, 1–5 cm wide, dentate to 5–7-lobed, cordate at base, sparsely scabrous on both surfaces; petiole 0.5–5 cm long, scabrous, ribbed. Male and female flowers in 2–5-flowered clusters on pedicels 2–8 mm long; petals 1–2 mm long, yellow-green. Fruit 1–1.5 cm diam., globose, glabrous, green with faint yellow stripes, on pedicels to 1.5 cm long; seeds c. 5 mm long, compressed, smooth, white-yellow, margin slightly thickened. Flowers Nov.–Apr.

MuF, MuM, MSB, RobP, VRiv, Wim. Occurs on drying or dried clay soils (e.g. lake-beds, ephemeral watercourses and lagoons) on the floodplain of the Murray River in the far north-west, with southerly occurrences at e.g. Lake Tyrrell, Wyperfeld National Park, but rare in Victoria.

Source: Jobson, P.C. (1996). Cucurbitaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne (as Mukia micrantha (F.Muell.) F.Muell.).
Updated by: Daniel Ohlsen, 2017-06-29
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Cucurbitales
family Cucurbitaceae
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Austrobryonia micrantha in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Austrobryonia micrantha in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Victorian Riverina present native
Murray Scroll Belt present native
Robinvale Plains present native
Murray Fans present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory