Cyphanthera albicans subsp. albicans

Hoary Ray-flower

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: rare (r)

Erect shrub to 3 m high, greyish; branches with an indumentum of whitish stellate hairs and glandular hairs. Leaves subsessile, elliptic to ovate or more or less obovate, mostly 6–15 mm long, 1.5–7 mm wide (juvenile leaves often much larger), obtuse, tomentose, margins recurved. Inflorescences panicle-like, dense, leafy; pedicels 1–6 mm long, tomentose; calyx campanulate, 2–5.5 mm long, pubescent; corolla 6.5–13 mm long, glabrous or pubescent, white or creamy-white with purple striations, lobes lanceolate, 3–15 mm long, acute, longer than tube, spreading; stamens 2–5 mm long. Capsule broad-ellipsoid to globose, 2.5–8 mm long; seeds 2.3–3.8 mm long, pitted, brown.  Flowers mainly spring to early summer. 

EGU, NIS, SnM. Also Qld, NSW. Rare in Victoria where known only from a few localities in the upper Snowy River area e.g. Ballantyne Hills, Little River, Mt Stradbroke and the Snowy River gorge.  Usually found on dry rocky slopes. .

Source: Jeanes, J.A. (1999). Solanaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-02-23
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Asteranae
order Solanales
family Solanaceae
genus Cyphanthera
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Cyphanthera albicans subsp. albicans in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Cyphanthera albicans subsp. albicans in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Northern Inland Slopes present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Snowy Mountains present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory