Lipocarpha microcephala (R.Br.) Kunth

Button Rush

Enum. Pl. 2: 268 (1837) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: vulnerable (v)

Slender annual. Culms smooth, 2–35 cm high, less than 1 mm diam. Leaves shorter than culms, 1–2 mm wide. Inflorescence of 1–4 ovoid spikes, each 2–8 mm long, 2–4 mm diam.; involucral bracts 2 or 3, spreading widely, to 12 cm long. Spikelet bract oblong-obovate, 1–1.7 mm long with excurved mucro 0.5–0.7 mm long, pale brown often tinged red-brown; hyaline scales 0.6–1 mm long, occasionally reduced or absent; stamens 1 or 2; anthers 0.2–0.4 mm long; style usually 2-fid. Nut subterete, very narrow-ellipsoid, pale brown, 0.7–1 mm long, c. 0.2 mm diam. Flowers spring–summer.

CVU, LoM, MuF, MuM, NIS, RobP, VAlp, VRiv, Wim. All mainland States. Malesia to Japan. In open damp places such as sandy stream-banks and drying lake margins; widespread but scattered and uncommon.

Source: Wilson, K.L. (1994). Cyperaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Daniel Ohlsen, 2017-06-14
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Cyperaceae
genus Lipocarpha
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Lipocarpha microcephala in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Lipocarpha microcephala in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Victorian Riverina present native
Robinvale Plains present native
Murray Fans present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Northern Inland Slopes present native
Victorian Alps present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory