Leptospermum trinervium (Sm.) Joy Thomps.

Paperbark Teatree

Telopea 3: 366 (1989) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: rare (r)

Shrub or tree to 6 m high; bark on smaller stems smooth or papery, shedding in strips or flakes, on larger stems in many papery layers. Leaves narrowly elliptic to narrowly obovate, 9–22 mm long, 3–6 mm wide, flat, glabrous; apex obtuse or obtuse and with a small point, incurved. Flowers 10–15 mm diam.; hypanthium 3–4 mm long, silky to villous; pedicel to 1 mm long; sepals narrowly triangular to triangular, c. 2 mm long, silky on outer surface, persisting on fruit; petals 3–5 mm long, white; ovary 4- or 5-locular, apex shortly silky only around base of style and along valve margins. Fruit deciduous, hemispherical to cylindric, 5–6 mm diam., surface silky to sparsely silky; seeds c. 1.5–2 mm long, often with loose cells along margins, with a reticulate surface pattern. Flowers Oct.–Nov.

EGL, EGU, HFE. Also Qld, NSW. Grows on well-drained sand and sandy loam in near-coastal shrubland and woodland east from Marlo.

Source: Lyne, A. (1996). Leptospermum. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Daniel Ohlsen, 2017-06-14
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Myrtales
family Myrtaceae
genus Leptospermum
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Leptospermum trinervium in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Leptospermum trinervium in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Highlands-Far East present native

State distribution

Distribution map
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory