Avicennia marina subsp. australasica J.Everett

Grey Mangrove

Telopea 5: 628 (1994) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: rare (r)

Shrub or small tree c. 1–4 m high; branchlets, inflorescences and lower surface of leaves greyish or silvery; pneumatophores numerous and projecting from the shallow lateral roots. Leaves narrowly obovate to obovate or elliptic, 3.5–12 cm long, 1–4 cm wide, leathery, apex acute to obtuse, base cuneate, margins entire, upper surface usually glabrous, lower surface minutely greyish or silvery hairy; petiole 5–10 mm long. Cymes dense, in upper axils or arranged in terminal panicles; peduncles angular, 10–25 mm long. Calyx 2.5–3 mm long; corolla white, yellowing with age, tube 1–2 mm long, lobes 3–4 mm long. Capsule compressed-ovoid, 20–30 mm diam.; seed germinating before fruit falls. Flowers most of year.

CVU, GipP, OtP, Strz, VVP, WPro. All mainland States. Malesia, South-east Asia, Pacific islands. Locally common on tidal mudflats (bays, estuaries and creek-mouths) from the western half of Port Phillip Bay to Corner Inlet.

Source: Conn, B.J. (1999). Verbenaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Daniel Ohlsen, 2017-06-29
Hero image
Distribution map


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Avicennia marina subsp. australasica in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Avicennia marina subsp. australasica in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Otway Plain present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Wilsons Promontory present native
Strzelecki Ranges present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory