Lotus corniculatus var. tenuifolius L.

Narrow Bird's-foot Trefoil

Sp. Pl. 776 (1753) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Naturalised

Plant glabrous or sparsely pubescent; stems to 90 cm long. Leaflets more than 3 times as long as wide; terminal 3 linear to narrow-obovate, 3–12 mm long, 0.5–3 mm wide, apices acute. Calyx 4.5–5.5 mm long; corolla 7–10 mm long; standard broadly obovate, short-clawed, apex obtuse. Pod 1–2.6 cm long, 1–2 mm wide. Flowers Nov.–Apr.

*EGL, *GipP, *HSF, *NIS, *VVP, *WaP. Also naturalised Tas. Native to Europe, Asia, northern Africa. Scattered across southern Victoria most notably in South Gippsland; usually found in disturbed areas on damp sandy or clay soils.

Although some authors recognize this taxon at species level, in a taxonomic study of the L. corniculatus complex in Turkey, Small et al. (1984) found a substantial overlap in the morphology and ecology of the above taxa, concluding that they are better retained at varietal level.

Source: Jeanes, J.A. (1996). Fabaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Fabales
family Fabaceae
genus Lotus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Lotus corniculatus var. tenuifolius in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Lotus corniculatus var. tenuifolius in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present naturalised
Gippsland Plain present naturalised
Warrnambool Plain present naturalised
Northern Inland Slopes present naturalised
East Gippsland Lowlands present introduced
Highlands-Southern Fall present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory