Amyema preissii (Miq.) Tiegh.

Wire-leaf Mistletoe

Bull. Soc. Bot. France 42: 84 (1895) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Erect or spreading shrubs, virtually glabrous. Leaves opposite or subopposite, terete, 2–8 cm long, 0.5–2.5 mm diam., apex acute or rounded, green, sessile. Inflorescence an umbel of triads, the central flower sessile; peduncles 5–26 mm long; rays of umbel usually 2, 3–13 mm long; pedicels of lateral flowers 4–10 mm long; bracts ovate, 1.5–2 mm long. Calyx entire or weakly toothed, limb to c. 0.2 mm long; corolla 4- or 5-merous, 18–26 mm long, red; anthers mostly 3–5 mm long, free part of filament c. equal to anther. Fruit globose, 8–10 mm long, white or pink. Flowers mainly Dec.–Apr.

CVU, DunT, GipP, Gold, GGr, LoM, MuF, MuM, OtP, RobP, VVP, Wim. Also WA, NT, SA, Qld, NSW. Widespread in western Victoria where found mostly on species of Acacia and occasionally on Senna.

Source: Jeanes, J.A. (1999). Loranthaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Santalanae
order Santalales
family Loranthaceae
genus Amyema
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Amyema preissii in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Amyema preissii in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Robinvale Plains present native
Murray Fans present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Otway Plain present native
Goldfields present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Greater Grampians present native
Dundas Tablelands present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales