Aristida holathera var. holathera

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: vulnerable (v)

Slender tufted perennial, culms erect, often branched, to 120 cm high. Leaves mostly cauline, glabrous, smooth or slightly scabrous; blade closely inrolled, to 15 cm long and 1 mm diam.; ligule densely ciliate, c. 0.3 mm long. Inflorescence a slender panicle or raceme, to 20 cm long (excluding awns); glumes unequal, narrow-acuminate, the lower 8–14 mm long, usually notched at the apex with the nerve continuing beyond the notch as a short awn, the upper 15–28 mm long, awnless; lemma convolute, narrow-cylindric, 8–15 mm long, glabrous except for short, white callus hairs, surface pale, smooth; column of awn 20–40 mm long, articulate on lemma, awn branches purplish only when very young, subequal, 25–60 mm long. Flowers most of year, probably following rain.

LoM, MuM, MSB, RobP. Rare in Victoria where apparently confined to the far north-west (between Red Cliffs and Boundary Bend), where usually growing on stabilised dunes and sandy rises.

Source: Walsh, N.G. (1994). Poaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-02-12
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Poaceae
genus Aristida
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Aristida holathera var. holathera in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Aristida holathera var. holathera in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Murray Scroll Belt present native
Robinvale Plains present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales