Panicum decompositum var. decompositum

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Tufted perennial. Culms erect, to 80 cm high; nodes glabrous. Leaves glabrous or ciliate about the sheath-blade junction, rarely with a few short stiff hairs; sheath pale; blade flat, to 30 cm long and 12 mm wide; ligule 1–2.5 mm long, ciliate. Panicle 10–25 cm long, fully exserted at maturity, primary and secondary branches finally spreading. Spikelets 2.2–3.1 mm long; lower glume weakly 1-nerved or apparently nerveless, broadly obtuse or, usually, truncate, without a central point, 0.5–1 mm long; rachilla exposed for c. 0.2 mm between glumes; upper glume 7–9-nerved, acute, 2–3 mm long; lemma of lower floret equal to upper glume; palea of lower floret c. three-quarters as long as its lemma; fertile lemma obtuse at maturity, slightly shorter than spikelet, hard, shining, dorsally rounded; palea subequal to lemma, flat or concave. Flowers Dec.–May.

MuF, NIS, OtP, VRiv, VVP, Wim. Occasional on basalt plain west of Melbourne (e.g. Little River, Laverton, St Albans) where usually associated with Themeda triandra grasslands, commoner in the north of the State where usually associated with grassy woodlands.

Created by: Neville Walsh, 2016-03-09
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Poaceae
genus Panicum
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Panicum decompositum var. decompositum in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Panicum decompositum var. decompositum in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Wimmera present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Victorian Riverina present native
Murray Fans present native
Otway Plain present native
Northern Inland Slopes present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales