Convolvulus clementii Domin

Biblioth. Bot. 89: 539 (1928) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: vulnerable (v)

Perennial herb, stems trailing and twining, sparsely to densely hairy. Mid-stem leaves, broadly ovate in outline, 7–30 mm long, 5–20 mm wide, but moderately to deeply lobed to digitate, apex obtuse, base truncate to cordate, margins often undulate, more or less glabrous to moderately hairy with hairs mostly spreading; petiole 6–30 mm long. Flowers 1 or 2 (rarely 3); peduncles 5–50 mm long; pedicels 3–15 mm long, shorter than peduncles, straight or sinuate in fruit; bracteoles linear to subulate, rarely narrow-elliptic, 1–4.5 mm long; sepals obovate, orbicular or broad-elliptic, 3.5–5.5(–6) mm long, moderately to densely ciliate; corolla funnel-shaped, 5–8 mm long, white to pink. Capsule globose to globose-ovoid, 4–6 mm diam., seeds finely punctate, bearing irregular short raised ridges and tubercles, glabrous. Flowers mostly Aug.–Oct., (but spasmodic throughout the year).

LoM, MuM, MSB, RobP. Also WA, NT, SA, Qld, NSW. In Victoria, confined to the north-west part of the State, growing in a variety of habitats from seasonally wet depressions to sandy rises.

Created by: Jeff Jeanes, 2015-08-27
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-12-28
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Asteranae
order Solanales
genus Convolvulus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Convolvulus clementii in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Convolvulus clementii in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Murray Scroll Belt present native
Robinvale Plains present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales