Xyris operculata Labill

Tall Yellow-eye

Nov. Holl. Pl. 1: 14, t. 10 (1805) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Leaves (15–)25–60 cm long; sheaths glossy mid-dark brown. Inflorescences usually 5–10, each (6–)8–10 mm long and borne on an axis 30–60 cm long; bracts c. 20–40, arranged in c. 5–8 whorls; upper fertile bracts irregularly torn such that margin appears ± fringed; lower sterile bracts progressively smaller towards base of inflorescence. Anthers 1–1.8 mm long. Style lobes c. 0.6 mm long. Fruit opening by distal slits. Flowers Nov.–Jan.

CVU, DunT, EGL, EGU, GipP, Glep, GGr, HSF, OtP, OtR, Strz, VVP, WaP, WPro, Wim. All states except WA, NT. Frequently found in wet heath-lands and swampy areas.

Source: Conn, B.J. (1994). Xyridaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Xyridaceae
genus Xyris
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Xyris operculata in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Xyris operculata in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Wimmera present native
Glenelg Plain present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Otway Plain present native
Warrnambool Plain present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Greater Grampians present native
Dundas Tablelands present native
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Wilsons Promontory present native
Highlands-Southern Fall present native
Otway Ranges present native
Strzelecki Ranges present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory