Eurychorda complanata (R.Br.) B.G.Briggs & L.A.S.Johnson

Flat Cord-rush

Telopea 7: 359 (1998) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Stems 30–100 cm long, green, flattened, green tissue interrupted by lines of enlarged epidermal cells or by pillar cells (lacking chloroplasts), striate, at least when dry; glabrous or hairy, sometimes with a greyish covering of closely appressed, broad, multicellular hairs. Sheathing leaves 10–25 mm long, closely appressed, thin, pale; apex obtuse. Male spikelets 5–8(–11) mm long. Male flowers with anthers exserted on slender filaments. Female spikelets 5–10 mm long; floral bracts overlapping, 4–8 mm long (those of male spikelets slightly shorter than those of female), with apex long-acuminate. Style exserted and usually curved Flowers (Sep.–)Nov.–Mar.(–Jun.).

EGL, EGU, Glep, GGr, HSF, VVP, WPro. Also SA, Qld, NSW, Tas. Locally common in damp heathlands, often with Xanthorrhoea species.

Source: Conn, B.J. (1994). Restionaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne (as Restio complanatus R.Br.).
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-11-21
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Restionaceae
genus Eurychorda
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Eurychorda complanata in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Eurychorda complanata in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Glenelg Plain present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Greater Grampians present native
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Wilsons Promontory present native
Highlands-Southern Fall present native

State distribution

Distribution map
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory