Cuscuta tasmanica Engelm.

Golden Dodder

Trans. Acad. Sci. St Louis 1: 512 (1859) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Stems pale yellow. Inflorescence a loose few-flowered axillary cluster, subtended by an obtuse bract 1–1.5 mm long. Flowers 5-merous; pedicels mostly 3–6 mm long; calyx 1.5–2.2 mm long, lobes unequal, oblong to ovate-oblong, obtuse, much longer than the tube; corolla 3–4 mm long, creamy, lobes ovate-oblong, obtuse, equal to or longer than tube; filaments 0.3–0.7 mm long, c. as long as anthers; scales subtending stamens oblong, equal to or longer than corolla-tube, with a dense fringe to 0.5 mm long; stigmas capitate. Capsule depressed-globose, c. 3.5 mm diam., not circumscissile; seeds 1.6–2 mm long. Flowers mainly summer and autumn.

GipP, Gold, HNF, MuM, MSB, RobP, VVP, WaP, WPro, Wim. Also WA, SA, NSW, Tas. Widespread through much of Victoria, mostly in saline areas where usually parasitic on species of Wilsonia and Chenopodiaceae.

Source: Jeanes, J.A. (1999). Cuscutaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-05-01
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Asteranae
order Solanales
genus Cuscuta
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Cuscuta tasmanica in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Cuscuta tasmanica in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Murray Scroll Belt present native
Robinvale Plains present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Warrnambool Plain present native
Goldfields present native
Wilsons Promontory present native
Highlands-Northern Fall present native

State distribution

Distribution map
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory