Grevillea pterosperma F.Muell.

Desert Grevillea

Trans. Philos. Soc. Victoria 1: 22 (1855) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Erect shrub 2–4 m high. Leaves usually simple, linear (rarely subterete), (3–)6–18 cm long, 0.8–1.8 mm wide, or with up to 6 linear lobes 1–1.5 mm wide; margin revolute, concealing lamina; upper surface longitudinally ridged; lower surface lanate (in grooves). Conflorescences erect, terminal or axillary, usually simple, 5–16 cm long, cylindric, dense; rachis tomentose to villous; bracts conspicuous on young inflorescences; outer surface of perianth grey-white and villous to tomentose or subsericeous, inner surface cream, pilose in lowest third or completely glabrous; pistil 12.5–20.5 mm long, ovary stipitate, bristly-villous, style cream to pale yellow, glabrous except near base, pollen presenter oblique. Fruits tomentose to glandular-pubescent Flowers Jun.–Jan.

LoM, MuF, MuM, RobP. Also WA, NT, SA, NSW. In Victoria confined to mallee scrub, open shrubland, or Triodia communities, on yellow or red sands in the far north-west (e.g. Wyperfeld National Park).

Source: Makinson, R.O. (1996). Grevillea. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Proteanae
order Proteales
family Proteaceae
genus Grevillea
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Grevillea pterosperma in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Grevillea pterosperma in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Robinvale Plains present native
Murray Fans present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales