Eriochilus magenteus D.L.Jones

Orchadian 15: 551 (2008) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: rare (r)

Flowering plant 10–25 cm tall. Leaf basal, ovate, acute, 15–35 mm long, 7–12 mm wide, usually bright shiny green, glabrous, incompletely developed at flowering time, subtended by a large hyaline bract. Flowering stem slender, 10–25 cm tall. Flowers 1 or 2, bright pink to magenta, pedicel (including ovary) 10–15 mm long, sheathed by broad truncate bract; dorsal sepal oblanceolate to spathulate, pink, 5–8 mm long; lateral sepals narrowly elliptic to oblanceolate, with distinct claw, bright pink to magenta, 10–13 mm long; petals linear, pink, 6–7 mm long. Labellum pink to magenta distally, greenish or yellowish towards the base, with pinkish hairs; erect portion lacking obvious lateral lobes; mid-lobe expanded to 2–3 mm wide, ovate to obovate, convex, with erect hairs arranged in small clusters. Flowers Dec.–Mar.

EGL, EGU, SnM, VAlp. Also NSW, ACT. Confined to higher montane and alpine areas of the north-east where found on moist to wet grassy flats and meadows often in water-retentive soils near swamps and streams.

See note under Eriochilus cucullatus for distinguishing characters.

Created by: Jeff Jeanes, 2014-11-21
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2018-02-16
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Asparagales
family Orchidaceae
genus Eriochilus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Eriochilus magenteus in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Eriochilus magenteus in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Victorian Alps present native
Snowy Mountains present native

State distribution

Distribution map
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory