Leucophyta brownii Cass.

Cushion Bush

in Cuvier, Dict. Sci. Nat. 26: 159 (1823) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Shrubs to c. 1 m high and wide (or more), mostly densely branched and cushion-like. Leaves c. linear to narrowly elliptic or ovate, 1.5–14 mm long, c. 0.8–1.2 mm wide, white to grey-white tomentose, at least the uppermost ones usually strongly appressed. Compound heads 6–16 mm long, 7–15 mm diam. Capitula 30–110 per compound head; capitular bracts 9–13, obovate or elliptic, flat to conduplicate, sometimes the scarious margins absent, sparsely to densely hairy at or just below the apex, glandular hairs often present on midrib. Cypselas obconical, 1.2–1.8 mm long; pappus bristles 10–13. Flowers Nov.–Apr.

Brid, EGL, GipP, Glep, OtP, OtR, Strz, WaP, WPro. Also WA, SA, Tas. Confined to coastal dunes and rocky clifftops, sometimes forming a distinct plant zone near the foreshore.

Source: Short, P.S. (1999). Leucophyta. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 4, Cornaceae to Asteraceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Daniel Ohlsen, 2017-06-14
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Asteranae
order Asterales
family Asteraceae
genus Leucophyta
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Leucophyta brownii in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Leucophyta brownii in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Glenelg Plain present native
Bridgewater present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Otway Plain present native
Warrnambool Plain present native
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
Wilsons Promontory present native
Otway Ranges present native
Strzelecki Ranges present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory