Erophila verna (L.) Chevall.

Whitlow Grass

Fl. Gén. Env. Paris 2: 898 (1827) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Introduced

Plant 3–20 cm high, slender, with simple, branched or stellate hairs. Leaves in basal rosette, spathulate to oblanceolate, 0.2–2 cm long, margins entire or with a few shallow teeth. Flowering stem without leaves. Sepals 1–2.5 mm long, hairy; petals 1.5–3 mm long, white or pink. Fruit elliptic, obovate or almost circular, compressed, 3–10 mm long, 1–4 mm wide, glabrous; pedicels spreading, 2–30 mm long.

*Brid, *CVU, *EGU, *Glep, *Gold, *GGr, *HNF, *MonT, *VAlp, *VVP.

Characterized by the bifid petals, the absence of any stem leaves and the presence of at least some branched hairs.

2 subspecies native to Europe, both naturalised in Victoria. 'Runts' of both subspecies are occasionally encountered and such plants are not included in the measurements given here.

Source: Entwisle, T.J. (1996). Brassicaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Brassicales
family Brassicaceae
genus Erophila
Higher taxa
Subordinate taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Erophila verna in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Erophila verna in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Glenelg Plain present naturalised
Bridgewater present introduced
Victorian Volcanic Plain present naturalised
Goldfields present naturalised
Central Victorian Uplands present introduced
Greater Grampians present introduced
East Gippsland Uplands present introduced
Highlands-Northern Fall present naturalised
Monaro Tablelands present introduced
Victorian Alps present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory