Austrostipa scabra subsp. scabra

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Orifice of leaf-sheath glabrous or almost so; asymmetrical auricular lobe of upper leaves to 4 mm long; leaf-blades hardly ribbed, commonly more than 15 cm long; inflorescence typically narrow, with spikelets virtually appressed to axis. Flowers Aug.–Oct.

CVU, EGU, GipP, Gold, HNF, HSF, LoM, MonT, MuF, MuM, MSB, NIS, OtP, VRiv, VVP, Wim. Also WA, NT, SA, Qld, NSW, ACT, Tas. Most Victorian records are from the dry, upper Snowy River catchment areas in East Gippsland with scattered occurrences near Bairnsdale and further west at e.g. Braybrook, Long Forest near Bacchus Marsh, Violet Town, Echuca, Mt Arapiles, Little Desert, and the far north-west. This is the less common subspecies in Victoria.

Source: Walsh, N.G. (1994). Poaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne (as Stipa scabra subsp. scabra).
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2017-11-16
Hero image
Distribution map


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Austrostipa scabra subsp. scabra in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Austrostipa scabra subsp. scabra in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Victorian Riverina present native
Murray Scroll Belt present native
Murray Fans present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Otway Plain present native
Goldfields present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Northern Inland Slopes present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Highlands-Southern Fall present native
Highlands-Northern Fall present native
Monaro Tablelands present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory