Eucalyptus woodwardii Maiden

J. Nat. Hist. Sci. Soc. Western Australia 3: 42 (1910) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Sparingly established

Tree to 10 m tall; bark smooth, shedding in long strips showing white, pink or green. Juvenile leaves petiolate, alternate, broadly lanceolate to elliptic, to 18 cm long, 9 cm wide, grey-green; adult leaves petiolate, alternate, broadly lanceolate, 9.5–18.5 cm long, 2–5 cm wide, dull, grey to grey-green; reticulation very dense, with intersectional oil glands. Inflorescences axillary, unbranched; peduncles to 2 cm long, 7-flowered; buds pedicellate, to 1.9 cm long, 1 cm diam., glaucous, scar present, hypanthium obconical to campanulate; operculum beaked; stamens inflexed; anthers versatile, dorsifixed, oblong to cuneate; ovules in 4 vertical rows; flowers yellow. Fruit pedicellate, obconical to campanulate, to 1.4 cm long, 1.5 cm diam.; disc descending; valves 4 or 5, rim level or enclosed; seed glossy, reddish-brown, flattened ovoid, sometimes shallowly reticulate, hilum ventral.      Flowers Sep.–Mar.

*Wim. Native to southern Western Australia, commonly cultivated in semi-arid areas, naturalised in western Victoria, apparently spreading from planted trees along the Western Highway near Kiata and Kaniva.

Sometimes hybridised with E. torquata Luehm. in cultivation.

Created by: Andre Messina, 2016-08-12
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Myrtales
family Myrtaceae
genus Eucalyptus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Eucalyptus woodwardii in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Eucalyptus woodwardii in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Wimmera present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory