Cyperus concinnus R.Br.

Prodr. 214 (1810) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: vulnerable (v)

Tufted perennial with very short rhizome. Culms trigonous, scabrous above, slightly swollen at base, 15–65 cm high, 1–3 mm diam. Leaves not septate-nodulose, shorter or a little longer than culms, 1–2 mm wide. Inflorescence compound with 3–5 primary branches to 4 cm long; digitate clusters to c. 1 cm diam.; involucral bracts leaf-like, 1–3 much exceeding inflorescence. Spikelets flattened, 1–6 per cluster, 4–10 mm long, 1.5–2.5 mm wide in side view, 12–32-flowered; rachilla not winged, persistent; glumes obtuse or almost acute, with sides not nerved, dark red-brown to blackish, c. 1.5 mm long; stamens 3. Nut trigonous, ellipsoid to ovoid, pale brown, less than half as long as glume, c. 0.5 mm long, c. 0.4 mm diam. Flowers spring–summer.

EGU, VRiv, VVP, Wim. All mainland States. In seasonally wet sites.

Rare in Victoria, known only from the Kerang-Pyramid Hill area, near Ballarat, and the Snowy River near Willis on the NSW border.

Source: Wilson, K.L. (1994). Cyperaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2019-02-18
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Cyperaceae
genus Cyperus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Cyperus concinnus in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Cyperus concinnus in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Wimmera present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Victorian Riverina present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory