Oxalis glabra Thunb.

Finger-leaf Wood-sorrel

Prodr. Pl. Cap. 83 (1794) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Naturalised

Herb with erect slender stems 5–30 cm high, 0.4–0.8 mm wide, minutely pubescent; bulb ovoid, acute, 5–9 cm long, tunic smooth, dark brown; bulbils subterranean, formed on rhizome. Leaves cauline or usually terminally congested, 3-foliolate; leaflets sessile, linear, oblong or cuneate 5–15 mm long, 1.3–2 mm wide, emarginate, often conduplicate, bright green or slightly grey green, glabrous and finely papillose above, with larger rather blister-like epidermal cells below, margins ciliate, with 2 minute apical calli; petioles 4–22 mm long, petioles as long as leaves or exceeding leaves; stipules tapering into petiole. Inflorescences terminal or axillary, 1-flowered; peduncles longer than leaves. Sepals lanceolate or linear lanceolate, 5–9 mm long, glabrous, rarely glandular ciliate, sometimes indistinctly bicallose at the apex. Petals 15–30 mm long, bright pink, yellow at base. Capsule not developed in Australia. Jul.-Aug.

*VVP. Also naturalised WA. Native to the Cape Province, in South Africa. Locally common in weedy mown/slashed nature strips and in degraded grassland on basalt clays at Craigieburn. Also noted from degraded Eucalyptus camaldulensis woodland at Somerton.

Created by: Val Stajsic, 2016-03-09
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2020-03-24
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Oxalidales
family Oxalidaceae
genus Oxalis
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <http://avh.chah.org.au>. Find Oxalis glabra in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Oxalis glabra in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present naturalised

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
Australian Capital Territory