Eucalyptus leucoxylon subsp. leucoxylon

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Tree to 25 m tall. Not waxy. Juvenile leaves to 10.5 cm long, 7 cm; adult leaves to 18.5 cm long, 2.5 cm wide; buds ovoid. Flowers creamy-white or pink. Fruit to 1.2 cm long, 1 cm diam.; valves 5(6); pedicel equal to or longer than fruit. Flowers winter–summer.

Brid, CVU, DunT, GipP, Glep, Gold, GGr, LoM, MuM, VRiv, VVP, Wim. Also SA. In Victoria, south of the Little Desert to the Dartmoor area, scattered through the Wimmera, extending as far east as the Brisbane Ranges. Non-glaucous populations near Boort and on the Murray River floodplain near Barham, New South Wales may also be this subspecies.

A species with a widely disjunct distribution, reaching its maximum height on Kangaroo Is.

Source: Brooker, M.I.H.; Slee, A.V. (1996). Eucalyptus. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2019-12-11
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Myrtales
family Myrtaceae
genus Eucalyptus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Eucalyptus leucoxylon subsp. leucoxylon in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Eucalyptus leucoxylon subsp. leucoxylon in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Lowan Mallee present native
Murray Mallee present native
Wimmera present native
Glenelg Plain present native
Bridgewater present native
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Victorian Riverina present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Goldfields present native
Central Victorian Uplands present native
Greater Grampians present native
Dundas Tablelands present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory