Amaryllis belladonna L.

Belladonna Lily

Sp. Pl. 292 (1753) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Naturalised

Bulb onion-like, broadly ovoid, c. 10 cm long. Leaves produced after flowering, several, linear, channelled, mostly 30–45 cm long, 15–30 mm wide. Scape stout, erect, 30–70 cm high or more. Flowers usually 5–12 per umbel, pink or less commonly nearly white; perianth segments 6–9 cm long, united at base for c. 1 cm, widely spreading above; stamens slightly shorter than perianth segments. Capsule subglobular, 1–2 cm diam. Seeds globose. Flowers late summer–autumn.

*CVU, *DunT, *GipP, *Gold, *GGr, *HSF, *OtP, *VVP. Also naturalised in WA, SA, NSW. A commonly cultivated bulb, with a wide range of forms, persisting in old garden sites and in areas where garden refuse has been deposited, noted as naturalised in Halls Gap, Melbourne and Korumburra areas, but probably more widespread than records indicate.

Source: Conran, J.G. (1994). Liliaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Val Stajsic, 2020-03-03
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Asparagales
genus Amaryllis
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Amaryllis belladonna in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Amaryllis belladonna in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present naturalised
Gippsland Plain present naturalised
Otway Plain present naturalised
Goldfields present naturalised
Central Victorian Uplands present naturalised
Greater Grampians present naturalised
Dundas Tablelands present naturalised
Highlands-Southern Fall present introduced

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales