Cyperus vaginatus R.Br.

Prodr. 213 (1810) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Extinct

Establishment means:Native

Threat status:Victoria: extinct (x)

Tussock-forming perennial, occasionally proliferating, with short, thick rhizome. Culms terete, rigid, smooth, to 100 cm high, to c. 3 mm diam. Leaves reduced to sheaths except in juvenile plants. Inflorescence simple or compound, with 4–12 primary branches to 6 cm long but often less, or sometimes head-like; digitate clusters to 2 cm diam.; involucral bracts mostly 5–8 exceeding inflorescence, with apex acute but not pungent, rather rigid. Spikelets flattened, 4–15 per cluster, 5–18 mm long, 2–2.8 mm wide in side view, 8–40-flowered; rachilla not winged, persistent; glumes short-mucronate, with 3-nerved keel, red-brown to straw-coloured, 2–2.5 mm long; stamens 3. Nut trigonous, obovoid to ellipsoid, grey-brown, scarcely one-half as long as glume, 0.6–0.8 mm long, c. 0.5 mm diam. Flowers spring–summer.

All mainland states. Apparently collected only a few times in Victoria, from Lake Lalbert near Swan Hill, Dimboola and the northern Grampians. Not collected in Victoria since 1913 and possibly now extinct at these localities.

Source: Wilson, K.L. (1994). Cyperaceae. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 2, Ferns and Allied Plants, Conifers and Monocotyledons. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Andre Messina, 2017-05-16
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Lilianae
order Poales
family Cyperaceae
genus Cyperus
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Cyperus vaginatus in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Cyperus vaginatus in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Murray Mallee extinct native
Greater Grampians extinct native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
Northern Territory
South Australia
New South Wales