Callistemon citrinus (Curtis) Skeels

Crimson Bottlebrush

U.S.D.A. Bur Pl. Industr. Bull. 282 (1913) APNI

Taxonomic status:Accepted

Occurrence status:Present

Establishment means:Native

Stiff, erect shrub to 3 m high; bark generally hard. Leaves oblanceolate to narrowly elliptic, 3–7 cm long, 5–8 mm wide, apex usually shortly acuminate and pungent, venation generally visible on both surfaces and glands sometimes prominent. Flower spikes 6–10 cm long, 4–7 cm wide; hypanthium mostly hairy at first, often becoming glabrous; stamens bright red, rarely purplish, 15–25 mm long, anthers dark purplish-red. Capsules 4–7 mm long and wide. Flowers Nov.–Dec

EGL, EGU, GipP, Gold, HFE, HNF, HSF, SnM, VAlp, VVP. Also Qld, NSW. Mostly at margins of lowland swamps and wet heathlands of the east, where locally common, but occasionally extending along watercourses to moderate altitudes.

See note under C. genofluvialis.

Source: Spencer, R.D. (1996). Callistemon. In: Walsh, N.G.; Entwisle, T.J. (eds), Flora of Victoria Vol. 3, Dicotyledons Winteraceae to Myrtaceae. Inkata Press, Melbourne.
Updated by: Andre Messina, 2016-06-23
Hero image
Distribution map
life Life
kingdom Plantae
phylum Tracheophyta
superorder Rosanae
order Myrtales
family Myrtaceae
genus Callistemon
Higher taxa


Source: AVH (2014). Australia's Virtual Herbarium, Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria, <>. Find Callistemon citrinus in AVH ; Victorian Biodiversity Atlas, © The State of Victoria, Department of Environment and Primary Industries (published Dec. 2014) Find Callistemon citrinus in Victorian Biodiversity Atlas
  Bioregion Occurrence status Establishment means
Victorian Volcanic Plain present native
Gippsland Plain present native
Goldfields present native
East Gippsland Lowlands present native
East Gippsland Uplands present native
Highlands-Southern Fall present native
Highlands-Northern Fall present native
Highlands-Far East present native
Victorian Alps present native
Snowy Mountains present native

State distribution

Distribution map
Western Australia
South Australia
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory